Directory

Since running Wild Folk, I have stumbled across many brilliant projects and people, and have noted them down in a private Slack channel with myself as inspiration.

The general idea is that these are nature-inspired companies and resources.

And then I decided that this was too good not to share, so I’ve categorised them and created this page. I could add to this list daily, but I have to start somewhere and didn’t want to delay further in sharing it – so here it is!

If there’s something or someone you think should be added in, please email me at hello@wildfolk.org.uk
And let me know if this is useful – email me or send me a message on Instagram (wild__folk)
Please also email or message me if you find a broken link.

Please note: These aren’t recommendations as such – I’ve only met a few of these people / experienced their offerings, but each of these seemed interesting and inspiring to me, and I hope they cater to a range of people – I wouldn’t necessarily go for everything on this list myself.

Also, if you’re featured on here and would like to be removed or be added to a different category – please let me know.

Accommodation

Beautiful wild places to stay in https://www.canopyandstars.co.uk/
Wild of the Words campsite https://www.thewildofthewords.co.uk/staywithus (Wales)

Adult days / nature connection groups and events

Neroche Woodlanders http://www.nerochewoodlanders.org/
The Birch Collective https://www.thebirchcollective.co.uk/ (Bristol)
Outdoor College https://www.outdoorcollege.co.uk/fresh-air-fridays (Bristol)
Living Life in Wellies https://lovinglifeinwellies.co.uk/ (Wales)
Wild Folk http://wildfolk.org.uk/ (Bristol)
Ember https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/o/forest-friends-14874360748 (Bristol)
Wander Women https://wander-women.co.uk/ (Edinburgh, Scotland)
Ecowild https://ecowild.org.uk/whats-on/adults/ (Bristol)
Live Wild https://www.livewild.org.uk/ (West Yorkshire)
The Wild of the Words https://www.thewildofthewords.co.uk/folkcraft

After-school activities

Woodcraft https://woodcraft.org.uk/ (UK Wide)
The Outdoors Project https://www.theoutdoorsproject.co.uk/ (Bristol and Sussex)

Art / Craft 

We Are Stardust nature journaling workshops and artwork https://wearestardust.myshopify.com/ 

Camps

Wildwise https://wildwise.co.uk/
Way of Nature https://wayofnature.co.uk/the-village-at-the-edge-of-the-world/
Lifebeat https://lifebeat.uk/ (14-18yr olds)
On the Hill https://www.onthehill.camp/
St Werburgh’s Farm https://www.swcityfarm.co.uk/programmes/young-people/holiday-summer-camps/ 
Woodcraft https://woodcraft.org.uk/
Trill on the Hill family camp https://www.trillonthehill.co.uk/family-camp

Child-focused festivals

Camp Kindling https://campkindling.co.uk/ (the children’s version of Camp Wildfire)
Starry Skies https://www.starry-skies.net/ 

Communities 

Aventure girls club (UK wide) https://www.theadventuregirls.club/
Folk + Field https://www.thewildacademy.co.uk/the-folk-field-community
Group Hikes Alice Keegan / Adventure Girls Club https://www.instagram.com/alice.keeg/ (UK wide)
Rowan Tree https://www.rowantree.uk.com/
We Are Stardust https://wearestardust.myshopify.com/pages/adventures
The Aligned Community https://www.lifealigned.co.uk/

Courses + workshops to connect with land, nature and climate change

Change in Nature https://www.changeinnature.org/
The Birch Collective https://www.thebirchcollective.co.uk/ (Bristol)
Embercombe https://embercombe.org/ 
Findhorn Foundation https://www.findhorn.org/
Hawkwood College https://www.hawkwoodcollege.co.uk/
Natural Academy https://www.naturalacademy.org/ (Bristol)
Omega Institute for Holistic Studies https://www.eomega.org/ 
Outdoor College https://www.outdoorcollege.co.uk/education (Bristol)
Schumacher College https://campus.dartington.org/schumacher-college/
We Are Stardust https://wearestardust.myshopify.com/pages/adventures
The Wild Academy – https://www.thewildacademy.co.uk/
White Peak Wellbeing (Ruth Allen) http://whitepeakwellbeing.com/
Woodcraft School https://www.woodcraftschool.co.uk/

Online courses

Go Wild Education – bushcraft, forest school https://www.gowildeducation.co.uk/online-forest-school-courses
Advaya https://advaya.co/ 

Courses for young people

Grow – Change in Nature for 18-29yr olds https://www.changeinnature.org/grow
Level 2 Diploma Holistic Land Based Studies for school leavers https://www.outdoorcollege.co.uk/holisticlandbasedstudies (Bristol/Somerset)
The Birch Collective https://www.thebirchcollective.co.uk/ (Bristol)

Event directories

Events in Bristol and nearby https://www.facebook.com/groups/2328629954115019 (moderated by Wild Folk)

Nature Culture Network – lots of events, retreats, shared within the network all around nature connection, based around the 8 Shields / Art of Mentoring models (UK and international) https://www.facebook.com/groups/262788215029791

Yuup Events local to bristol, coming soon to Birmingham https://www.yuup.co/

Family nature days

Rooted Wings https://www.rootedwings.org/family-sessions (West Yorkshire)
Neroche Woodlanders http://www.nerochewoodlanders.org/wild-explorers.html (Taunton area)
Kith Homestead https://www.kithhomestead.com/
Cultivating Curiosity http://www.cultivating-curiosity.co.uk/ (Sussex)

Festivals

Gone Wild Festival https://gonewildfestival.com/
Camp Wildfire https://campwildfire.co.uk/ ‘Summer Camp for adults’
Quirky Campers https://www.quirkycampers.com/uk/
Valley Fest https://www.valleyfest.co.uk/ (Bristol/Somerset)
Awake on the Lake https://www.rootstothefuture.co.uk/event-details/awake-on-the-lake (Suffolk)
Stowaway Festival https://www.stowawayfestival.co.uk/

Food – Supper clubs, workshops and private catering

Ubuntu food https://www.ubuntufood.com/ (Bristol)
Beth The Free Range Chef https://www.beththefreerangechef.com/
Flavour Fred https://www.flavourfred.com/
The Salt Box https://wearethesaltbox.co.uk (Surrey)
Nomadic https://www.experiencenomadic.com/
Genevieve Taylor / Bristol Fire School https://www.genevievetaylor.co.uk/bristol-fire-school
The Story Farms (Somerset)
Wood Fired Events https://www.woodfiredevents.co.uk/

Foraging

Flavour Fred https://www.flavourfred.com/
Totally Wild UK https://totallywilduk.co.uk/ (UK wide)
Foraged by Fern https://www.foragedbyfern.com/ (Sussex)
Healing Weeds https://healingweeds.co.uk/ (Bristol)
Living Wild (Leah) https://livingwild.uk/
Fore Adventure https://www.foreadventure.co.uk/ (Dorset)
Rachel Lambert https://www.wildwalks-southwest.co.uk/ (Cornwall)
Wild Food UK https://www.wildfooduk.com/
Go Foraging https://www.goforaging.co.uk/ (Particularly mushrooms – Bristol)
Belmont Estate https://belmont.estate (Bristol)

Forest bathing

Dorset Forest Bathing https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/o/dorset-forest-bathing-30884827959
Creative Journeys https://creativejourneys.org.uk/ (Dartmoor)
Southcombe barn https://www.southcombebarn.com/ (Dartmoor)
Hinoki Forest Bathing https://www.hinokiforestbathing.co.uk/book/ (Surrey)

Forest school (term time)

Too many to put on here!
Database of FSA recognised Forest School Providers https://forestschoolassociation.org/find-a-forest-school-provider/#!directory/map

Forest school (School holidays / weekends)

Bristol Woodland Adventure https://www.bristolwoodlandadventure.com/ (Bristol)
Rooted Wings https://www.rootedwings.org/ (West Yorkshire)
The Outdoors Project https://www.theoutdoorsproject.co.uk/ (Bristol and Sussex)
Cultivating Curiosity http://www.cultivating-curiosity.co.uk/ (Sussex)

Gifts and homewares

These Two Hands https://thesetwohands.co.uk/ (Bristol based, posts worldwide)
Good Things https://www.goodthingsgifts.co.uk/ (Devon based, posts worldwide)
Ramble Co Store https://rambleco.co.uk/shop

Guides – routes for walks and mini adventures

Tide by Emma Croman https://www.tideblog.uk/
Ramble by Athena Mellor https://rambleco.co.uk/guides

Herbalist

Lily Canetty Clarke medical herbalist and tea maker https://www.lilycanettyclarke.com/

Live music outdoors

The Nest Collective https://thenestcollective.co.uk/
Sofar Sounds (sometimes outside) https://www.sofarsounds.com/
St Werburgh’s City Farm https://www.swcityfarm.co.uk/
Wander Gather https://www.instagram.com/wandergatherbristol/ Bristol)

Mens spaces

IceBreakers https://icebreakers.uk (Wild swimming, retreats)
Journeyman https://journeymanuk.org/events2/ circles and camps for men and boys including mentoring and rites of passage work 
Retreat at Kudhva – https://www.anthonymullally.com/kudhva-retreat

Podcasts

Connection Matters (by Live Wild) https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/connection-matters-podcast/id1515564368
Change in Nature – https://www.changeinnature.org/podcast

Photographers

Gem Hicks Photography https://gemhicksphotography.com/
Emma Croman – https://www.emmacroman.com/

Retreats (UK)

Change in Nature https://www.changeinnature.org/
Mens retreat – Anthony Mullally & Josh Bolding https://www.anthonymullally.com/kudhva-retreat
Campwell https://campwell.co.uk/ (Wiltshire)
Embercombe https://embercombe.org/ (Devon)
Findhorn Foundation https://www.findhorn.org/ (Scotland)
The Living Project https://www.thelivingproject.life/`
Living Life in Wellies https://lovinglifeinwellies.co.uk/ (Wales)
Luna Wilds https://www.lunawilds.co.uk/
She can do wild https://www.instagram.com/shecandowild/ (Wales)
Southcombe Barn https://www.southcombebarn.com/
The Living Project https://www.thelivingproject.life/
The Sharpham Trust https://www.sharphamtrust.org/ (Devon)
The Wild Academy https://www.thewildacademy.co.uk/
The Wild Times https://www.thewildtimes.co/
Way of nature https://wayofnature.co.uk/
Wild Folk (Coming soon!) https://wildfolk.org.uk/

Retreats and courses (Worldwide)

Cortijo Caseria https://cortijolacaseria.com/
Hollyhock https://hollyhock.ca/ (Canada)
Suralila Yoga Retreat Centre https://suryalila.com/ (Spain)

Singing 

Singing Mamas groups https://www.singingmamaschoir.com/
Singing walks – https://www.sorrelwildesinging.co.uk/singing-walks (Bristol)

Wild swimming

IceBreakers https://icebreakers.uk/ (Mens group)

Women’s spaces

Adventure Girls Club https://www.theadventuregirls.club/ 
Group Hikes – Alice Keegan https://www.instagram.com/alice.keeg
Ember Wellbeing https://www.instagram.com/ember_wellbeing/ (Bristol)
Wild Women Events https://everytreasure.blog/ 
Wander Women https://wander-women.co.uk/ (Scotland)
Foraged by Fern wellness days https://www.foragedbyfern.com/service-page/women-s-wellness-workshop-summer?referral=service_list_widget
She Can Do Wild retreats https://www.instagram.com/shecandowild/ (Wales)
The Village – The Mother’s Fire https://www.thevillage.uk.com/weekly-mother-s-fire